Short & Sweet: Var Dzalian Daghilili (So Tired!)

Some days are exquisitely good; today was one of those days. I tried some vodka at school with my teachers, was given a rose by the sweetest 11th grader, and was allowed to cook for the first time (!) Note: my sample of vodka = rubbing alcohol (100 proof).

Not only was there vodka – they had every other form of grape as well: the actual fruit, wine, and a jelly-like dessert. The teachers and I can’t talk much, but when there’s someone handy to translate it’s always a fight over who gets to bring Christina the next new food. On the rare days food isn’t mentioned I reiterate my reasons for being single :/

Tonight’s dinner was lovely, and reminded me just how integrated everything is in this country. I breaded and fried fish next to my school principal as she worked on soup. During kitchen prep, my host father and grandfather laid tile in the her new bathroom. And then our IT teacher dropped by to join the party. We all watched Russian bloopers on TV and chased after their cat, Chorna (Russian for the color black). Can you say family?

Every day at school presents new possibilities. In my free periods when I’m not playing sports with the students I jot down ideas: 1) English posters for classrooms; 2) Christmas play; 3) English club, and the list goes on … This infinite potential is simultaneously exciting and overwhelming.

Planning lessons is always a challenge because the students, even though they’re in the same class, are never on the same level. The Georgian method is to encourage the participation of those who do well and leave the “lazy” ones to fend for themselves; my students got quite a shock at first when I made everyone participate, no matter how much they had to struggle. No, I don’t think this faulty system can be changed overnight, but I’m starting to see a couple raised hands from former “lazy” students.

I found that nice Georgian boy. Well, a couple actually. Too bad they’re (barely) minors – and my students. Yet I explain this to my friends and host family and no one sees the problem. Ohhh the cultural differences …

This weekend I go adventuring with some fellow English teachers to Batumi, a port on the Black Sea. It’s very, very beautiful from what I’ve seen – and equally expensive. Oddly enough Coolio will be in concert there on Saturday 🙂 Then next weekend we’ll be staying local to conserve funds and attend a town festival.

Leave a comment